What is Actual Yoga and Why to do Yoga

Most of the time people refer Yoga as stretching exercises only but its more than that. Yoga is a way to become physically, mentally and spiritually strong.

It is mentioned in the Rigveda (an ancient text) that Yoga is the part of the pre-vedic culture in Hinduism. It’s later developed in fifth century. The classical yoga or also known as Ashtang yog is a group of 8 different kind of practices.

Most of the time people refer Yoga as stretching exercises only but its more than that. Yoga is a way to become physically, mentally and spiritually strong.
  1. Yama: This is the first basic step of yoga. Practitioner needs to follow five social ethics.
    a. non-violence: Do not harm anyone with words, thoughts or deeds.
    b. Truth: Always speak truth, Say only what’s in your mind
    c. Never steal: no tendency to thief
    d. Celibacy: Be restrained in all sensory pleasures
    e. No unnecessary accumulation – Do not accumulate excessively and do not desire the things of others
  2. Niyama (Rule) : Follow five personal ethics
    a. Purity – practitioner has to be purified b body and mind
    b. Contentment – being satisfied and happy
    c. Tenacity – To be self-disciplined
    d. Self-study – Learn yourselves
    e. God-providence – Full devotion to God
  3. Aasanas (Pose) : These are the very famous exercises but i will call them postures because they are designed to bring the body in natural form after sleep or siting for hours. They are also designed to cure problems with the physical structure of body.
  4. Pranayama (Breathing exercises): Control of life through special breathing techniques
  5. Pratyaahaar (Withdrawal) : This was introduces by Maharishi Patanjali. It is to imitate the sensing power of those senses which fickle with the mind.
  6. Dharna (Assumption) : This is the exercise to control the mind and concentrate on only subject. People used to practice concentrating only on single assumption.
  7. Dhyan (Meditation): Practitioner used to concentrate on single thought or subject. This practice helps them to gain deep concentration power.
  8. Samadhi : This is the last stage where practitioner is so involved in meditation that he left the sense of his surrounding and can sit for longer and longer period of time.

These are eight yog sutras which are being followed since ancient India and still some gurus are teaching these techniques in ashrams. Nowadays people are not aware of these yoga sutras and they just concentrate on stretching exercises.

Yoga is very powerful technique and if followed in right way then it can bring magical results. These days people have very tight schedule that they can not think about all these but still we have to pass on some good habits to our next generation.

If you want to read more about Ashtanga yoga then I recommend to read this book. Or if you want to know more about the Yoga Sutras then go read this book.

To know more about Meditation and Peace, read my blog.

Top 5 Fantasy Netflix series to watch
It is very difficult to categorize and choose top 5 fantasy netflix …
Top 5 Trading Partners of India
India is a developing market economy and it has the potential to …
Inspirational Quotes from Peter Lynch
Peter Lynch is an American investor and fund manager of Fidelity Magellan …
Missing big returns on short term stock trades
This is the time when market volatile and stocks are giving moves …
Where to invest in this economic disruption
Equity mutual funds are down almost 20-30% from last high. Most people …
Yoga to fight Coronavirus symptoms
Coronavirus (Covid-19) has already been declared pandemic. Protection is the only way …
Manali trip and Tourist places
This article is focused on how you can plan a trip to …
Biggest fall in stock market after 11 years
Nifty has fall more than 7% in just one week and almost …
GDP Growth rate | Challenges that Govt is facing to be a 5 trillion
Most of the companies have posted 3rd quarter results but still results …
Swami Vivekanand inspirational quotes
Swami Vivekanand (an Indian Monk) was born on 12 January 1863, Kolkata. His …
Budget 20-21 : new tax regime tax calculation
Today everyone was looking something that someone can get out of this …
Learn HTML in 10 basic steps
HTML stands for Hyper Text Mark Up language. This is the main …
Siberian Husky Dog breed
Siberian Huskies have the wolf like face. They are an active, energetic, …
German Shepherd Dog Breed
German Shepherd dogs breed German Shepherd dogs are brightest, easy to socialize, …
Encryption and Decryption of a string using AES in C#
AES is a symmetric block cipher algorithm. A private key is used …
How to recover stock market losses
Hey guys welcome back to my posts. Today I will discuss how …
Is it right time to invest in stock market ? Let’s see
Is it right time to invest in stock market ? Every one …
Indian GDP is 4.5% for Jul-Sept Quarter. What to do.
GDP growth has fallen consecutively from 8.2% (2016-17) to 4.5%(2019-20) QoQ. But …
Rottweiler Dogs are best for guarding and herding but they are more of a good friend.
Training is the key for every pet to stop them being dangerous. …
How to create an investment portfolio
Hello Investors !! How are you guys? We all know a portfolio …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.